Poetry

For a background on why art and poetry are important, see:  What is it about Art? http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/what-is-it-about-art/

 

I often use poems in my women’s circles for resonance and making a concept or topic of consideration more potent.  Below are a few favorite poems and poets as well as some written by me.  (*Note that this work is copyrighted, mine and what I cite.  Please reference the work accordingly.  Thank you!*)

 …….……………………

 

Sampling of Favorites

 

Matsuo Basho, "The Temple Bell Stops" http://www.ronnowpoetry.com/contents/basho/templebell.html 

 

Wendell Berry, "The Peace of Wild Things" https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/the-peace-of-wild-things/ 

 

Brian Bilston, "Refugees" https://brianbilston.com/2016/03/23/refugees/ 

 

Emily Dickinson,  "If I Can Stop One Heart from Breaking" https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/if-i-can-stop-one-heart-from-breaking/ 

 

Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estés, "How To Silence a Woman": https://maryannburrows.com/dr-clarissa-pinkola-estes/

 

Martha Graham, "There is Vitality" http://www.elise.com/quotes/martha_graham_-_there_is_a_vitality 

 

Langston Hughes, "I Too" https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/47558/i-too 

 

Li-Po, "Zazen on ching-t’ing mountain" http://sage-ing.org/wp-content/uploads/LiPo-ZazenonChing-tingMountain.pdf 

 

Kabir, "Are You Looking for Me?" https://www.poemhunter.com/i/ebooks/pdf/kabir_2012_5.pdf 

 

Masahide, "Barn's Burnt Down" http://www.poetry-chaikhana.com/Poets/M/Masahide/Barnsburntdo/index.html

 

John O'Donohue "Celtic Blessing" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rYnWCophIM (this can also be found in Anam Ċara)

 

Mary Oliver, "Wild Geese" http://rjgeib.com/thoughts/geese/geese.html 

 

Mary Oliver, "Why I Wake Early" http://famouspoetsandpoems.com/poets/mary_oliver/poems/15838 

 

Mary Oliver, "The Journey" http://famouspoetsandpoems.com/poets/mary_oliver/poems/15794 

 

Rumi, "The Guest House" https://allpoetry.com/poem/8534703-The-Guest-House-by-Mewlana-Jalaluddin-Rumi 

 

Maggie Smith, "Good Bones" https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/89897/good-bones 

 

Tracy K Smith, “Ash”  https://poetonthepalouse.wordpress.com/2015/11/18/ash-poem-by-tracy-k-smith/

 

Tracy K Smith,  “Unrest in Baton Rouge” https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/unrest-baton-rouge

 

Alice Walker, "Desire" https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/desire-175/ 

 

………………………..

 

For your inspiration (breath, art, and soul): Poets and authors worth following on social media

 

Jasmin Kaur @jusmun

 

Rupi Kaur @rupikaur_

 

nayyirah waheed @nayyirah.waheed

 

Nikita Gill @nikita_gill

 

Atticus @atticuspoetry

 

Mary Oliver @PoetMaryOliver

 

Alice Walker @authoralicewalker

 

…………………………………………………………

 

My work

 

Breathe (pranayama) http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/breathe-pranayama/ 

 

Enlightenment: the path of Heart http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/enlightenment-the-path-of-heart/

 

Fractured Self http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/fractured-self/ 

 

Gestalt http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/gestalt/  

 

Jericho Flower: http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/jericho-flower/

 

On My Back: http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/on-my-back/

 

Paramour: http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/paramour/

 

Permissibly Injurious: http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/permissibly-injurious/

 

Poetry is: http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/poetry-is/

 

Reimagining the world (with your tongue): http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/reimagining-the-world-with-your-tongue/

 

Sit spot http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/sit-spot/

 

Tattoos http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/tattoos/ 

 

The Source of Joy http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/the-source-of-joy/

 

The Spell is Broken http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/the-spell-is-broken/ 

 

Too Heavy http://wildwomaninthesuburbs.com/too-heavy/

 

…..……………………………………...

*This listing of work and authors is incomplete and will continue to be updated*